Strengthening investment and engagement in the arts FOR ARTISTS.

The Ohio Arts Council seeks to be a resource for the many talented artists residing and working in our state. Through its  Individual Excellence Awards, Traditional Arts Apprenticeship, and  Artists with Disabilities Access Program grants, the OAC honors artistic achievement and promotes creative collaboration that transcends generational and cultural boundaries. 

In addition to these funding programs, Ohio artists are further recognized and appreciated through the Ohio Poet Laureate and Spotlight: Featured Artists at the Governor's Residence programs, as well as the annual selection of Heritage Fellowship Award recipients. Check this page often to keep up-to-date with other  opportunities currently available to individual artists.

ODNR/Great Seal Park Commissioned Artistic Memorial Signage/Structure Request for Proposal

Open To: Ohio artists
Commission Amount: up to $60,000 (inclusive of all expenses)
Entry Open Date: Monday, December 27, 2021
Entry Deadline: Monday, January 31, 2022

In remembrance of those lost to the COVID-19 pandemic, the ODNR Division of Parks and Watercraft is seeking design, production, and installation of a sculpture and two signage structures that display text (listed a close of RFP). The sculpture and signage structures should incorporate creativity and artistic elements to enhance the aesthetic and define the COVID-19 memorial grove located at the Great Seal State Park.

To read full commission announcement details go to:

Individual Excellence Award


The Ohio Arts Council Individual Excellence Award deadline is September 1, 2021, at 5pm. Applications may be opened beginning June 1st, 2021.

For the deadline this year, we will be accepting applications in the following disciplines: choreography, criticism, fiction/non-fiction, music composition, playwriting/screenplays, and poetry. One application is accepted per applicant. To read the full program guidelines, click on the button below

Read the Application Guidelines

FY 22 IEA Panelist Bios

2021 Individual Excellence Awards - Archive